13 Alternative Challah Recipes

Avatar:
JOY of KOSHER
Author:
Publish date:
Social count:
714
challot

Challah is definitely delicious, but if you're trying to eat healthy it's not really on the meal plan (as they say). Below are 4 different categories of alternative style challahs that you should try out: Whole Wheat, Spelt, Gluten Free and Vegan. EnJOY!

Whole Wheat Challah:

Whole Wheat Challah

Whole wheat challah was probably the first break-away from the traditional white flour challah. The Whole Wheat Challah pictured above is a half and half challah (3 cups white and 3 cups whole wheat), which is typical for a whole wheat recipe. You can try this with 100% whole wheat flour if you add another tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. You can also try this Honey Whole Wheat Recipe which uses white-whole wheat flour and can be made in a bread machine. How about this other delicious Whole Wheat Challah... It has a large amount of yeast but will definitely turn out fluffy. If you want something completely different, try this Zaatar and Olive Challah. It uses olive oil instead of the traditional canola and is made with half and half white and whole wheat flour.

Spelt:

Spelt Challah

Spelt Challah (in the image above) is also  a great option for your family and friends who may be attached to their white challah. Some spelt recipes come out brick-heavy, but this one is light and delicious! You can also try out our Soaked Spelt Challah. Soaking the grain helps break it down into a more digestible form for your body and makes the whole grains more tender giving a very good texture to your baked items.

Gluten Free Challah:

gluten free challah

Gluten Free Quick Challah  is a great gluten free challah recipe. Don't let the ingredients list scare you! It can be made in just a few hours from start to finish. Although the dough is more like a thick batter, the baked bread has a great crumb. You can also try out our Gluten Free Challah Muffins. Because you bake the batter in a muffin tray or loaf pan, the dough seems easier to handle. If you're looking for an oat challah recipe to make hamotzei, this Gluten Free Oat Challah will do the trick.

Vegan (Eggless) Challah:

challot

In addition to being good vegan practice, there is also good historic reason for not having eggs in the challah. Syrian Jews do not use eggs in their challah, because they say the Temple shewbread, which is the origin of the challah tradition did not have eggs. The Eggless Challah pictured above is the perfect addition to your table if you or any of your guests are vegan. You can also try this Eggless Challah recipe or either of our water challah recipes.

After trying some of these out let us know in the comments... Are they better then a white flour challah?

Want stories like this delivered straight to your inbox? Sign up now for the Joy of Kosher Weekly Newsletter.