• Email
  • Pin It
 

Pour Out The Kosher Wine -Into a Glass of Course!

 

Contributed by:

 

 

7 comments | Leave Comment

 

Kosher wine is traditional for the Passover seder, so what goes into that making that bottle? To keep with tradition, those who may not keep kosher will enjoy kosher wine, but not too many people consider all that it takes to create kosher wine. It all starts with Concord grapes, which naturally have a bitter taste, so bottlers add large amounts of sugar to sweeten the wine.

And then there is the difference between kosher wine that uses boiling to purify it (Mevushal), and the newer “flash pasteurization” method which does the same thing, yet preserves the taste. However, by not boiling it, the “non-Mevushal” wine can lose it’s kosher status if handled by a non-Jew. The Mevushal is exempt from this and can be poured and enjoyed by all, regardless of religion.

Just remember that just because it’s a kosher wine doesn’t automatically make it an award winning wine. Ask around, ask friends, ask your rabbi! Now that wine producers are hastily realizing the surge in popularity of kosher wines, and creating more choices, wine stores will be more than happy to assist your purchase. L’Chaiyim!

Posted in

Tags

 

comments

 

7 Responses to Pour Out The Kosher Wine -Into a Glass of Course!

  1. avatar says: Jeff

    About Carp fish, what I dont understand is this:

    There is Kosher Carp, which is also used to make gefilte fish

    From what I have read, all shellfish, (clams, shrimp, lobster, etc, are prohibited because they are considered “unclean”, because they live and feed on the bottom of Oceans, bays,, and harbors.
    Yet Carp also are bottom feeders and have a similar diet, so how and why are Carp OK to eat and not shellfish? Confused !!!

    • Hi Jeff, I just came across this question and in case you are still wondering wanted to say that Kosher fish are defined as those with fins and scales. So the reason shellfish is not kosher is because they don’t have fins and scales.

  2. That is interesting I never knew there was kosher wine. I wonder if it takes away from the taste of normal wine?

  3. avatar says: Fred .D

    Great blog. I am glad I found it on Google.I’ll be back to visit your site soon.

  4. avatar says: Bob

    Interesting. I never thought about a Kosher wine.

  5. So then I would assume that since the non-Mevushal wine can be made un Kosher that is actually preferrable to use the boiling method? I’ll admit that I’d never heard any of this.

Leave a Reply

Log in or Join For Free or leave a reply as a guest
Login



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  Notify me of follow-up comments by email